The Bonney Group Board plays a key role in corporate governance.

The Bonney Group is led by a Board of Directors who oversee the three companies, each with their own specialist management team and operational staff.

The Board exercises leadership, enterprise integrity and judgment in direction of the business. They set the core purpose and values of the Bonney Group and are responsible for determining the strategy of the Bonney Group so that it achieves its purpose and upholds its values.  In order that the business thrives, the Board monitors existing procedures and practices as well as implementing new ones to enhance the Bonney Groups assets and reputation.

Other Board responsibilities include:

  • Monitor and evaluate the implementation of strategies, policies, management performance criteria and business plans
  • Ensure that the Bonney Group complies with all relevant laws, regulations and codes of best business practice
  • Ensure that the Bonney Group communicates effectively with clients and staff
  • Regularly review processes and procedures to ensure the effectiveness of the Bonney Group’s internal systems of control
  • Identify key risk areas and key performance indicators of the business and monitor these factors.

The Board of the Bonney Group comprises Wayne Bould as Executive Chairman and Managing Director, and Non- Executive Directors Bob Ruddick and Tony Pedder. The Board meets monthly with the Executive team.

Wayne Bould (Managing Director, Bonney Group)

Wayne has over 40 years’ practical and managerial experience in the petroleum, forestry and mining sectors. He began his career with Golden Fleece Petroleum in Hobart in 1969, was General Manager LN Petroleum (the original Bonney Group company which became Caltas) from 1981 until 1985, operated his own fuel distributor business for Shell Australia in Tasmania until 1995, and then partnered with Shell to develop and test Shell’s downstream distribution business models encompassing retail and distributor sales in regional Australia. Wayne was a member of the Australian Petroleum Agents and Distributors Association (APADA) Tasmanian and National boards, and was President of the National Association of Shell Distributors (NASD).

Wayne owned and operated a niche management consulting business which provided specialist, practical assistance to a variety of major businesses in a wide range of sectors across Australia. He then moved into the mining and mineral processing industry from 2004 until 2014, performing various roles with the Newmont Mining Corporation before being appointed as Global Director Business Excellence in 2008. Wayne joined ASX listed Grange Resources Limited as Chief Operating Officer from 2009 until 2013, and was Managing Director from 2013 until 2014.

Wayne and Byron Bonney maintained their relationship over the 30 years. Byron invited Wayne to join his Bonney Group Advisory Board in 2010, appointed him Executive Chairman in 2011, and asked him to assume the role of Managing Director in 2013. Wayne was a Director of all of the Bonney Group companies at various stages between 2010 and 2013.

In addition to his roles with the Bonney Group, Wayne has been CEO of the Tasmanian Minerals, Manufacturing and Energy Council, has been reappointed to the Prime Minister’s Joint Commonwealth Tasmanian Economic Council as a member of the Business Group and is currently President of the Caltex National Distributor Association.

Tony Pedder (Non-Executive Director)

Mr Byron Bonney appointed Mr Pedder Chairman of the Bonney Group Advisory Board in 2005 and Tony held that position until he passed it to Wayne Bould in 2011. Mr Pedder has remained as a member of the Bonney Group Advisory Board, and in 2013 was appointed as a non-executive director of each of the Bonney Group of Companies.

Mr Pedder had a long and distinguished career with the Tasmanian Public Service until his retirement in 1995. Mr Pedder’s career included very senior appointments, including Premier’s Department Policy Advisor; Transport Tasmania as Assistant Secretary, Secretary/Associate Commissioner, Deputy Commissioner and Commissioner for Transport;  Department of Parks, Wildlife & Heritage as Secretary; and Department of Transport & Works as Secretary.

In addition to his senior roles within the Tasmanian Public Service, Tony also concurrently held appointments as Commissioner, Australian National Railways Commission;  Member, Commonwealth Transport Industries Advisory Council;  Member, Motor Accidents Insurance Board; Chairman,  Abel Tasman Advisory Board;  Chairman, Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority;  Chairman, Joint Commonwealth/State Standing Committee on Tasmanian World Heritage Area;  Director, TT-Line Company Pty Ltd; and Director,  Metro Tasmania Pty Ltd.

Since his retirement in 1995, Tony has to date also held appointments as Director, Motor Accidents Insurance Board;  Chairman, Port Reform Steering Group;  Member, Public Works Tender Board; Director, Tattersalls Hobart Aquatic Centre;  Vice-Chairman, Variety the Children’s Charity; Chairman, Public Works Tender Board; Chairman, Valuer-General Tender Committees;  Chairman, St Helens Dredging Forums;  Elder Statesman, Variety the Children’s Charity;  Director, Marine and Safety, Tasmania;  Member, Tasmanian Auditor-Generals Audit Committee;  and Chairman, Marine and Safety, Tasmania.

Bob Ruddick (Non-Executive Director)

Mr Ruddick is a Chartered Accountant and began his career as a partner in one of the large international accounting firms. Since becoming the Principal of his own Launceston based accounting practice some 29 years ago, Bob has developed a quality accounting firm which has provided whole-of-business advisory services to the Bonney Group and Mr Byron Bonney personally for over 28 years.

Bob has served as a member of the Bonney Group Advisory Board since 2005, and was appointed as a director of each of the Bonney Group of Companies variously from 2007.

Bob is a Past Chairman of the Tasmanian Regional Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants (ICAA) and Past Member of the University of Tasmania Council with roles including Chairman of the Audit Committee and Vice-Chair of the Finance and Investment Committees. Bob currently serves on the Australian Maritime College Board, is Chairman of the UTAS Joint University Business Board, and is also a Director and Chairman of several private Tasmanian businesses.

Bob recently received the inaugural University of Tasmania Distinguished Business Leader Award for 2015.  The award reflects Bob's significant contributions to business and to the Uniiversity.  Bob's firm, Ruddicks, employs 25 staff who, in the main, have received their qualifications from the School of Business and Economics at the University of Tasmania.